Log In

Home
    - Create Journal
    - Update
    - Download

LiveJournal
    - News
    - Paid Accounts
    - Contributors

Customize
    - Customize Journal
    - Create Style
    - Edit Style

Find Users
    - Random!
    - By Region
    - By Interest
    - Search

Edit ...
    - Personal Info &
      Settings
    - Your Friends
    - Old Entries
    - Your Pictures
    - Your Password

Developer Area

Need Help?
    - Lost Password?
    - Freq. Asked
      Questions
    - Support Area



Del ([info]big_bad_wolf) wrote in [info]fandom_lounge,
@ 2006-11-16 23:48:00


Previous Entry  Add to memories!  Tell a Friend!  Next Entry
Help a Meme.
So, the original They Fight Crime generator was created by two friends of mine ...

Al says "In fact, it's been gone for over six months. And in the interim, a load of people who have basically done nothing other than rip off the original and remove the credit, have started to clog up the google listings for "they fight crime". And I object to other people thinking it's OK to steal Andrew's and my work (mostly Andrew's), remove the authorial credit, and (in some cases) make money off it via ads, when the original was free. So, if anyone fancies posting the link up in forums, blogs, LJs, myspace, with the usual "Here's a funny link" nonsense, and perhaps a few choice generated phrases, that'd be ace. If you felt like explaining the reason I'd like the link to do the rounds again, including words like "The original they fight crime generator is back", or similar, and generally encouraging people to send it about so that we get back to our fair place, that'd be great, too."

They Fight Crime!


(Post a new comment)


[info]sarajayechan
2006-11-17 12:51 am UTC (link)
*bookmarks*

(Reply to this)


[info]khym_chanur
2006-11-17 02:08 am UTC (link)
Did other people take the source code that created the webpage, or did they just take the idea and wrote their own source code to generate their page? Because if it was just the idea, I don't think that you can "steal" an idea like that.

(Reply to this)(Thread)


[info]big_bad_wolf
2006-11-17 02:09 am UTC (link)
I'm not sure I know, but I think Al means they were taking Andrew's exact words in some cases. They might have taken the code as well.

(Reply to this)(Parent)(Thread)


[info]mindset
2006-11-17 02:25 am UTC (link)
:)

http://www.theyfightcrime.net/ is the exact website with A&A's names filed off. http://www.greensubmarine.co.uk/fightcrime.html is the same one with a godawful background and header added, *and* A&A's names filed off. And there's a bunch more out there - those are just the top ones on Google right now.

Since the code's right in javascript, I think they just copied the old page exactly. (The new site has the JS hidden, or it's using PHP instead, or something.) There's actually a Perl rewrite out there, with credit, that could be pretty useful...

(Reply to this)(Parent)


 
   
Privacy Policy - COPPA
Legal Disclaimer - Site Map